top of page

Pamper Experiment: Throwing Shade Broad Spectrum Facial Sunscreen SPF 30


I picked this up directly from my Posh consultant since they still had stock available and this won't be back on the main website for a little bit, but luckily I was able to snag this up to give it a long-term trial. With the summer heat in the south, there's more than enough sun exposure.

It took me some time to really formulate the data from a more regular use of this sunscreen since the local weather had been on the odd side since the 2016 winter being a bit warmer than usual. That appears to have translated into Mother Nature adding an additional few weeks or so of rain. (Seriously, there were some days I thought I'd need a boat to get home from work rather than my car it was so oddly heavy.) At any rate, I was able to collect enough personal data for my final impression.

FINAL ANALYSIS: This sunscreen is a bit more durable and light weight than I was expecting, but that's surprisingly good. Initially a housemate left this out in the heat after it arrived in the mail, so I was very concerned when opening the sunscreen that it might have been unusable or not in a prime state to really test out this product. I was presently surprised that even though the sunscreen was a bit more liquid-y versus creamy as expected, it was still good to use. It's very lightweight and can easily be applied under makeup on a daily basis. Once the sun returned to the area I was able to notice that my facial skin didn't pick up the same heat or redness after being out during the day. Normally I wear a broad spectrum SPF 15 that Cetaphil makes which doubles as a daily facial moisturizer for my sensitive skin. However, that one is not as makeup friendly as this Posh sunscreen. It seems to help moisturize as well, so I've switched to using Throwing Shade as my main sunscreen under makeup daily while only using the Cetaphil one when I don't need to be outside or wear makeup.

Mind...blown...

This product was more or less a stab in the dark trial in whether or not I'd like it in the first place. I had to admit that what caught my attention is the fact that it would be easy to apply under makeup. Now while I don't wear a lot of makeup, just basic foundation and powder, I can't say I'd run into a sunscreen that wouldn't automatically make that turn into clumps on my skin shortly after application. This sunscreen is thin enough in its liquid form to coat and protect the skin without interfering with daily makeup use. At least from my experience when using the bareMinerals line. That makeup up line is intended to be light on one's skin and also good for those that happen to find issues using makeup due to their sensitive skin like myself.

If you find yourself interested in this after reading this post and/or my initial review exposing me to this sunscreen, you may want to locate Posh consultant to inquire directly. My understanding is that this was supposed to return to the main Perfectly Posh website but that's been months since I'd heard about that info...if it comes back after this point, Summer will be over...

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page