top of page

Philosophy The Microdelivery Exfoliating Facial Wash

Price: $15.00 for 4 fl. oz. bottle at Philosophy site, pricing varies depending on size. (as of this blog post)

Standard Size: 4 fl. oz. / 118 mL

Fragrance: Light citrus.

Use: Clean and gently exfoliate face.

Product Size Experience: Full Size | 4 fl. oz. / 118 mL

1st Impression: A very...light citrus scent...and it's like soft grains of sand on the skin...

Rating: * * * * *

Recommendation: Help to clean and refresh face.

So...as a facial cleanser I've grown to love in such a short time was being retired-- I found myself with the slight conundrum of finding something new I liked that also would handle the tough job of my odd acne/rosacea skin without irritating said sensitive skin. Now...while I've have often heard of Proactiv from others I've asked about different product lines to check into-- that price tag is pretty steep. Plus, I've also heard that most only want the tiny bottle from the starter kit which seems to be the main thing that works but it costs quite a bit.

I first ran into this product when browsing through the variety of skin care products offered at my local Ulta Beauty store. There was a promo going on and I'm more fond of short step routines to care for my skin given that I'm on the go a lot of the time...so I figured I'd give this a try. I was not disappointed. It was definitely different and at first I was a bit concerned that the exfoliating blend would agitate my skin.

The fragrance is a clean citrus scent that's pleasing and leaves a refreshing clean feeling once the scrub has been applied and rinsed. Applying the scrub is easy, like with any facial cleanse product, and I noticed that the texture is like soft grains of sand which will exfoliate the skin but not irritate it at the same time. You don't need to scrub longer than 30 -to- 60 seconds on damp skin before rinsing clean. It's recommended to use in the morning and in the evening followed with a moisturizer. My face feels cleaner after using this facial wash...and honestly I was surprised about that-- like I find it difficult to put into words that experience. That "knowing" of feeling "clean" in a way you never felt before...as if all prior efforts were lackluster or of poor effort.

I've found that larger sizes are available if going direct through the Philosophy site. That may be something I decide to do if my local Ulta store or even their online website doesn't offer a larger bottle when I'm ready to pick up another. The product applies to the skin pretty evenly and a little goes a long way so I may not need one for a bit. Having been used to a lot of prescription cleansing products...it's very easy to see high price tags...and what makes me balk is the fact that I don't know if any of those prescription strength products will work or irritate my skin. What I like about this product line is they often offer smaller trial kits to experience a cleanse or skin treatement routine. My local Ulta store had the Philosophy Mini Cleansing Duo set available which allowed me to test out this scrub and find that I really needed a larger bottle for daily use. I probably wouldn't have tried this if not for the fact that my prior facial scrub was being retired, but for anyone looking for something new-- this is worth giving a try.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page