top of page

Dive In Chunk Big Bath Bar

Price: $9.00 (as of this blog post)

Standard Size: 7 oz. / 199 g

Fragrance: Sea spray, fruity florals, and musky amber.

Use: Gently lather up and clean from head to toe.

Product Size Experience: Sample Size | 1 oz. / 28.4 g

1st Impression: Hmm...smells interesting...wait...did the scent just change?

Rating: * * *

Recommendation: Simple and clean moisturized skin.

First, I think for this particular Posh Chunk I need to explain my initial reaction-- I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with this particular product. It's sneaky. It tries to psych you out during use...you have to be on guard because it's tricky-- it'll play games with your heart.

Initially opening the sample package for this bar I was hit with a fairly noticeable mix of musky amber and sea air. Which isn't bad...not a preferred scent mix, even though I really like amber, but it's a very unique scent. However...once you get a lather from this Chunk, the fragrance changes to one of an musty earth smell. I figure this aspect is brought out due to the kaolin clay used in the blend for this product, so it makes sense but it makes me feel like a mud monster. Though that's not the last of it's games...oh no...once your skin air dries after leaving the shower, you'll find the scent changes once more to a light and lingering sea spray fragrance. Again...not bad, but after feeling like a mud monster when the scent changed during my shower...I'm very suspicious that it'll change on me once more.

Also, during use of this bar in the shower I noticed that my skin felt a bit more dry than usual before rinsing clean. Again, I attribute this to the kaolin clay within the Posh Chunk bar. The closest way I have to describe the sensation was that of recalling during my childhood years erasing a mistake written in pencil with the eraser...and having it stubble across the paper-- that's how my skin felt at first...ah ha, you noticed I said "at first" didn't you? Outside of the shower once my skin had air dried I thought I might need a bit of lotion to moisturize my skin since it's sensitive. Though before I could go find any lotion I noticed that my skin was actually soft and smooth, no where near as dry as I'd expected.

Overall this Posh Chunk has been a weird experience for me-- I felt like the bar was playing mind games with me. This particular Posh product isn't for me, but due to the light sea and earthy notes to its fragrance-- it could be nice for those that like that scent or even for men. It's not overpowering in scent so there's no worry about a clash there. Also, it gets the job done. Provides clean skin that's soft and smooth.

Additional Analysis: During continued use to finish the remaining sample bar I did find this Posh Chunk grow on me a little, but it's still not one I prefer. I think my love/hate relationship is more from feeling tricked. Doing some additional research I was looking into the compound and the mix of kaolin clay plus argan oil may help with psoriasis. I don't happen to have that skin condition to properly test that aspect, but it may be worth trying this soap for those with the condition looking for additional relief.

Comments


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page