top of page

Castaway Coconut Coconut Oil

Price: $16.00 (as of this blog post)

Standard Size: 4 oz / 113 g

Fragrance: Freshly picked coconut.

Use: Apply moderate amount to skin, rub in, and let it absorb. May used sparingly in hair to smooth frizz and increase shine.

Product Size Experience: Sample Size | 0.15 oz. / 4.4 mL

1st Impression: Hmm...clear...huh? OH NO! It's leaking everywhere! EVERYWHERE!

Rating: * * * *

Recommendation: Massage or to relax skin after irritation in the summer heat. Also controls stray hair.

The sample foil packet I had for this oil left me feeling I got more on everything else rather than on myself. However, it looks like the full size product is in a better container for regular use than my initial experience with the sample. Like I mentioned before, I'm pretty clumsy at the pampering aspect, so it took a moment to catch and save the oil. The plus side of it being an oil is that a little can go a long way and even with having managed to apply a couple unexpected coats to items within my bathroom, there was plenty remaining to use and test out this product.

After a long shower I tried out this oil to see how it'd absorb into my skin. It seemed to take a moment for me to notice, but as the oil heated up to my natural body temperature while air drying, my skin felt super soft and relaxed. However, until that point it left me feeling slightly sticky and it might have been more ideal to have set down a full length towel to sit on during the application process. Even with my pamper-impaired bungling, I still had enough to attempt and see how it could smooth down my frizzy hair. It actually works nicely but you should use sparingly or just the residual that remains on one's hands during skin application before it's absorbed as that should be more than enough. I used my hair dryer on my hair afterwards to see if it would frizz out more or less, and it actually remained calm and manageable for me.

As this oil presents more of its attributes with heat, this would make for a nice massage oil. Though that's speculation after observation of how my experience using this product was in retrospect-- I've never been into a massage parlor and seeing as attempted research into a spa day out costs close to $100 or more, that's not likely to happen any time soon. Though the properties of how easy, when not fiddling with the foil sample packet, the oil can be applied and be absorbed into the skin could make for a relaxing experience. It's also been noted that for those that use waxing products, this is a gentle and highly effective method to remove residual wax from the skin. Though I attribute that more to the properties of coconut oil in the first place.

Seeing as this is an oil and a little will definitely go a long way, I find the price fair considering you're investing in a product and not just buying coconut oil off the grocery shelf to make a home-brew skin treatment. While I don't think this is for me, I may keep it in mind for the future to help with my hair frizz off an on during the odd weather and humidity in the south. If in the future I decided to add masseuse to my Jack-of-All-Skills trade list, then I'd consider making this oil for use.

コメント


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page