top of page

Pamper Experiment: Dr. Carver's Mandatory Prep Scrub


I've never used a prep scrub before, usually I've jumped straight to the application of a shaving cream or foam and that was the end of the prep period for me. Now...I have been exposed to other methods recently such as exfoliating soap bars that help to remove the dead skin before applying any type of shaving cream or foam, and the extra prep does help for the smoother shave.

FINAL ANALYSIS: This particular shaving prep scrub is...okay. It's nice for what it is, but at the same time doesn't stand out as something spectacular to me personally given there are a few other methods I find I personally prefer. Granted, this product is offered by the Dollar Shave Club so it's more targeted to the male demographic and is less likely to appeal to me. However...I figured I'd give it a shot and the trial sample I received lasted a lot longer than I'd expected-- I still currently have some left to use before the bottle is empty. The blend does have a very guy-like sent but it doesn't linger for long, nor is it too potent during the application and use. I was expecting it to be a bit more gritty feeling when applying to my legs before the shave butter...and it actually was a bit more gentle than I'd originally thought. Seeing as this is intended to use on a facial shave more, that's a good thing. A little goes a long way, like I stated prior I still have some of this left in just the trial sample I received in the shave kit I ordered. It does leave my skin feeling refreshed and ready before applying a cream, foam...or in my case the shave butter before shaving.

I did have an amused moment...I'll admit that...

This shaving prep scrub is worth giving a try. Perhaps it might be simple to make part of a shaving routine than other methods for some people. While everyone has different skin types and needs, I think this blend is neutral enough for anyone to try. It's difficult to tell until you test it out on your skin, but there is a trial kit version of this prep scrub that you can pick up from the Dollar Shave Club if you're curious.

If you find yourself interested in this after reading this post and/or my initial review exposing me to this prep scrub, you can pick it up here: [just by clicking this conveniently placed product link box]

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page