top of page

Dr. Carver's Mandatory Prep Scrub

Price: $9.00 (as of this blog post)

Standard Size: 3 oz. / 85 g

Fragrance: Amber crystals, walnut shell powder, jojoba esters, bamboo powder, pineapple extract and safflower seed oil.

Use: Apply thin layer on clean to exfoliate skin before shaving.

Product Size Experience: Trial Size | 1 oz. / 28 g

1st Impression: A little gritty...but it doesn't feel too abrasive when using...

Rating: * * *

Recommendation: Exfoliates skin before shaving.

Once again, this is yet another item from the Dollar Shave Club basic shave care products trial kit I picked up recently to experiment with further for a close, clean shave experience. The trial size version of this prep scrub can be found in the The Immaculate Shave Trial Kits from the main DSC site. Since the kit was only $5 to test out three of the main shave care products I figure this was pretty budget friendly and I'd get a chance to see if there was anything else I'd want to add to my next scheduled box.

This was just okay for me...it didn't impress me as much as the other two products from the Dr. Carver's line of shaving products. While I don't think it's bad...it's one of those that you could "take it" or "leave it" without missing out on much. It's fairly easy to apply but I think I have better scrubs that do the job just as well already in my bath care stash. The product formula is gentle enough for the face so for those with sensitive skin this might find this good leg shave routines. Personally, I have other skin exfoliating products that work nicely and have a more preferred scent to me. This doesn't have much of a strong scent, it's more of a clean scent to me...but just not something I prefer even for on-the-go travel.

This is is worth trying out whether you decide to pick up a razor blade subscription with DSC or not. Personally it's just not for me, but it's still a pretty good prep shave product to help remove dead skin cells before a shave. If you've never tried any of the DSC shaving care products before I'd recommend testing out the basic set offered in the Immaculate Shave Trial Kit as it's inexpensive and you get to test out three core shaving care products. This particular trial kit gives you 1 oz. samples of the prep, during and after shave care products to experience a smooth shave care routine. Perhaps one of the better ways to figure out if you want to invest in a larger product or not while keeping to a budget. As I've found with the products from this kit, you need very little during the application process-- seeing as I've used them to shave my legs, that's considerably more than what's required for a man's facial shave.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page