top of page

Pamper Experiment: Love the Dark Body Scrub | Day 3


Well...I decided to give this a try for another day, but this time with a bit of a twist. I'm not going to follow the instructions. So...let me state my disclaimer now.

DISCLAIMER: This black sea salt body scrub is intended for use on skin from the neck down to your very tippy-toes. By no means is it originally recommended to use outside these means. If you decide to do so, then you do so willfully against the stated intended use of this product.

Are you ready?

There. That's done. So, basically I was wondering how this particular scrub might work if I massaged some of it into my scalp and rinsed out fully. My scalp at times dries out and produces some flaking even after I've fully washed my hair. I've tried a variety of shampoos in the past without ever finding one in particular that resolved that issue-- even had a specialized dermatologist prescribed shampoo that cost me a bloody arm and leg (okay...not really but it felt like it...) to treat my hair and scalp. No luck, no results. Seeing as this particular scrub has dead sea salt in it, which is usually pretty good to address issues with acne and psoriasis, I thought if it's going to provide any results I'll see something with a trial hair wash. I can't say if the charcoal aspect might slightly dye one's hair seeing as mine is dark...but if I notice I can't find the few strands of grey hair on my head in a day or so then I'm going to guess that it might color the hair a bit. So it might not be ideal for those with light colored tresses.

I took the tar goop in small amounts and massaged it into my scalp with care...and painted the toilet seat cover black again... It's a bit trickier to get massage in through hair, but after a bit of working trial and error-- I managed to get it situated onto my scalp. If you don't manage to get it massaged into the scalp then it will fall as a chunk of blackened sea salt onto the shower floor, so it's fairly easy to know if you did it right or not. I left it there for a just a couple minutes while trying not to recolor the shower curtain and walls, then rinsed it off while massaging my scalp to make sure I removed all traces of the scrub.

It was a curious clean feeling for my scalp skin...and while I trust that the honey blended into this scrub mix would help rejuvenate irritated skin, as a precaution I put on a little the conditioner I'm currently using now just in case. After walking out of the shower my hair felt really good and bouncy after I dried it...and I don't see the trace skin flakes from when my scalp dries out a bit too much. I mean...seriously...my scalp, per the dermatologist I saw, gets oddly dry even after a proper medicated shampoo treatment. Like...immediately after you'll see it... Granted right now this is just one wash attempt, I'd have to observe over a bit more time...but I may test it out again tomorrow. I don't want to over wash my hair, but I do want to see if it makes a difference to the dry scalp issue...this would be cheaper than medicated shampoo.

So...in essence I just used this scrub as if it were the Vitamin Sea Extra Coarse Sea Salt Shampoo (boy is that a mouthful) and...I kinda like this better. My initial review at the experience of the Vitamin Sea shampoo didn't really leave me very impressed. Granted that specific Posh shampoo has a bit of coconut oil in the mix, but it was just "okay" as far as results. However...that might be another product to revisit in the future seeing as all I had was a trial sample packet, which wasn't too easy to use in the first place.

If you find yourself interested in this after reading this post and/or my initial review exposing me to this body scrub, you can pick it up here: [just by clicking this conveniently placed product link box]

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page