top of page

Pamper Experiment: Love the Dark Body Scrub | Day 1 & 2


Okay...first of all, because the sample packet was difficult for an initial test of use I decided I'd give it another chance. When I saw it go on sale recently through the Perfectly Posh website-- I decided now was as good a time as any to give it another go... Normally it's $24 for the large 9 oz. / 255 g tub container, so when I saw it for $16 during a site sale, I figured I could afford to give it an honest long term trial. It...still has a few quirks...

Before we begin, we need to set the mood.

Slower song tempo for a dramatic flare to illustrate via music how I feel when using this body scrub-- I still manage to paint parts of my bathroom and shower black in some form or fashion. It seems to come off easy enough...um...unless it gets on the walls. Seems to leave a little bit of a residual smudge. Managed to paint the toilet seat black...

Anyway... the full size container comes sealed with its protective foil under the twist on cap to the container. It's pretty easy to remove, but during shipping some of the product may have settled onto the underside of the foil seal, so if you want to use every last ounce just scrape that back into the container tub. What you'll notice upon opening the container is that it has a thick consistency which might appear like stiff salt water taffy that got left in the sun by accident. The key ingredients in this mix of honey, glycerin, dead sea salt and sea salt give it the thick texture. (Yes, two types of sea salt were blended into this body scrub mix.) Unfortunately, it's this texture that makes it difficult to spread on the skin for use.

DAY 1

My order arrived by late afternoon and just in time for the long 4th of July holiday. I figured an evening shower would be a good first test run on this body scrub. Because I'd experienced the sample packet prior, I fully expected to be looking at goopy tar upon opening the container. It did not disappoint. Though it also smelled good with the fresh sea breezy fragrance...that came out more from the full sized container over the sample packet. It wasn't overpowering, so even if I were getting ready to go out for dinner it wouldn't have mingled badly with a light perfume. I noticed it actually fades to a more light trace scent after a time.

During the shower process, I took out small bits of the black goop to spread over my skin. Like I stated prior, it's thick and makes that process difficult...and I probably used more than I had wanted even when taking little tiny marble sized scoops. Now, maybe I'm just clumsy, but in the application process close to the shower I managed to get traces of blackish-grey body scrub onto the toilet seat I'd closed to use to set the container on since it was very close to the shower. When applying this body scrub to the skin, it does leave a light grey coloring on lighter skin tones before rinsing...I imagine it'd be more of a slightly grey sheen you'd have to really look for on darker skin tones.

Once you manage to apply the taffy-tar-like substance on your skin, it already has done most of the job of scrubbing due to the sea salt mix...and the slight difficulty in application. However, once you rinse off the the black, liquid coal residue...you reveal the smooth diamond skin-- okay, it's not diamond, but it does leave the skin feeling cleansed and smooth. It was actually a pretty relaxing skin treatment to leave me feeling nice and comfy, ready to curl up with a book in bed. So...it's worth the effort during a wind-down routine after a long day.

DAY 2

I figured since the recommended use initially on the site is 2-5 days I'd see how a day two morning use would pan out...I'm not certain if I'll use it up to 5 days before giving it a break just yet, we'll see. Right off the bat I found trace evidence of Love The Dark Body Scrub residual along some of the walls of the shower...I could have sworn I got it all off last night, but apparently I'd missed a few spots.

This stuff gets everywhere...I mean when I scanned the area I saw that it'd managed to leave trace at the spot where the top of the tub wall frame meets drywall. Let's put it this way...CSI Vegas will not need to do much to know you've used this body scrub.

If you enjoy taking your favorite body scrubs to a friends house when sleeping over-- give them warning that you'll be using this one so they don't walk into the bathroom wondering if they've got dirty water or just didn't manage to clean the shower walls well before your visit. It's just a basic courtesy, it's difficult to make sure you track down and catch all the areas to clean.

After using this body scrub, I've learned that this is one you have to take your time with...either plan ahead for a long shower or when you don't have an appointment you need to make. I guess in that way Love The Dark Body Scrub embraces the essence of pampering-- learning to take your time. I didn't have to be anywhere this morning so my shower was longer than usual. (Most of that time in applying this body scrub after washing my hair.) It probably shouldn't amaze me by this point, but I was still pleased and amused to find that after turning into a coal miner's daughter for a few minutes, my skin was silky smooth. Even with as much as I gripe about how difficult it is to use, I do like this body scrub. The sea salt helps to cleanse the skin while the honey helps to repair it, so it's definitely worth the trouble. We'll see if I turn to the Dark Side or not yet...never fancied myself as a Sith Lord.

If you find yourself interested in this after reading this post and/or my initial review exposing me to this body scrub, you can pick it up here: [just by clicking this conveniently placed product link box]

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page